“Television is not for me behind the camera” – says Karan Johar

Most filmmakers don’t swing towards the television industry too often. Karan Johar is one of those directors who prefer restricting his expertise to the big screen. “Indian television has its positives and negatives. It has a huge audience and some shows are very entertaining, but I think it needs to come out of its current zone”, says Karan Johar who has on previous occasions featured on television shows. The director does not plan to create one however.

karan johar

karan johar

Karan Johar has directed several films before that include Kuch Kuch Hota Hai (1998) followed by Kabhi Khushi Kabhi Gham (2001), Kabhi Alvida Naa Kehna (2006), My Name Is Khan (2010) and Student of the Year (2012). When asked if directing a television shows is part of his agenda, Karan articulated, “Television is not for me behind the camera. I could be a judge, a host, but I am not sure if I could be a director over TV.”

Karan Johar has made an appearance as a judge on the dance reality show Jhalak Dikhla Ja and India’s Got Talent. He has also hosted the popular talk show Koffee With Karan and is currently in the show Packed To The Rafters. “I started with Koffee With Karan as a hobby. I am a people’s person, I like to know about their lives and how they think. I was offered many shows in the past, but I never took them up because I felt that I hadn’t achieved that level where I could judge others. I felt I needed to work much more. Now, with almost 18 years of experience in the industry, I feel maybe I have the right to have an opinion. I really believe that you have to earn the right to judge somebody else,” said Karan Johar in a recent interview.

Previously, Karan also added, “Television is not for me behind the camera. I could be a judge, a host, but I am not sure if I could be a director over TV,” confirming his decision to keep away from directing television shows and sticking to films instead.

This entry was posted in Bollywood, Bollywood Director and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

